Tech, scholarships, opinions and general information

2016 Commonwealth Master’s and PhD Scholarships for Developing Member Countries

Application is currently ongoing for the 2016 Commonwealth Master’s and PhD Scholarships which are available to citizens of developing Commonwealth countries.

Commonwealth scholarships help students from developing member states of the Commonwealth of Nations to get free access to quality postgraduate education in the United Kingdom. Scholarship funds are made available by the UK Department for International Development (DFID). The scheme is geared towards achieving the international development goals and general overseas interests of the UK as well as supporting higher education excellence and sustaining Commonwealth principles. Scholarship covers approved airfare to and from the UK, tuition and examination fees, living allowance, warm clothing allowance and thesis/dissertation grant, amongst others.

2016 Commonwealth Master's and PhD Scholarships


The 2016 Commonwealth Master’s and PhD Scholarships are available for the following postgraduate levels of study:

* Master’s (only one-year or 12-month courses are covered)

* Doctorate or PhD (up to 36 months)

All subject areas are eligible for application, but preference may be given to development-related areas. Interested individuals must apply to any university in the UK that has a part-funding agreement with the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (CSC) – you can access a list of such institutions on the 2016 Commonwealth Master’s and PhD Scholarships page.

Eligibility for 2016 Commonwealth Master’s and PhD Scholarships

The following conditions have to be met to apply for these scholarships:

* Be a citizen of a Commonwealth country, such as Nigeria; a refugee, or a British-protected person

* Be a permanent resident of a developing Commonwealth country

* Hold a Bachelor’s or first degree with a minimum of upper second class (2:1) honours, or a second class degree and a relevant postgraduate qualification, such as a Master’s degree.

Application and Selection

To apply for 2016 Commonwealth Master’s and PhD Scholarships, interested individuals are expected to go through the nominating agencies in their respective countries. Entries by applicants in Nigeria are to be made to:

Assistant Director
Federal Scholarship Board
Plot 245, Samuel Ademulegun Street
Opposite Arewa Suite
Central Business District

The nominating body receives applications and selects those it deems worthy of consideration for the Commonwealth Scholarships from its own country, in line with the nomination quota specified by the CSC. Nominated applications are then examined by CSC’s panel of expert advisers and a selection committee based on the following criteria:

– Academic merit of candidate
– Proposal quality
– Potential impact of candidate’s work on his/her country’s development

The CSC says there are no quotas on the number of scholarships candidates from individual member countries can get.


Interested persons have until 19 November 2015 to submit their applications to the appropriate nominating agencies. The nominating bodies will then send their nominations to the CSC latest by 17 December 2015. © 2015 Frontier Theme